Digital Enlightenment Forum VzW

Digital Enlightenment Forum is established as a not-for-profit organisation in Luxembourg on 8 March 2011 by Jacques Bus (Advisor, NL), Kim Cameron (Distinguished Engineer at Microsoft, CA), Willie Donnelly (Vice-President Research WIT, IRL), Mireille Hildebrandt (prof Erasmus Univ, NL), Georges Metakides (prof Univ of Patras, GR), Elly Plooij - van Gorsel (Governor and Advisor, NL), Reinhard Posch (Prof Graz, Univ, CIO Austria, AT) and Kai Rannenberg (prof Goethe Univ, DE).

Since 18 Aug 2013 Digital Enlightenment Forum (DEF) VzW is established as a non-profit association under Belgian law.

DEF is an open community of organisational and personal members from different backgrounds working together to develop visions policies and projects towards a sustainable digital society. Read about Members and Sponsors

Board of Directors

  • George Metakides (Professor at University of Patras, Greece) - PRESIDENT
  • Jacques Bus (Advisor Digitrust.EU, Netherlands) - SECRETARY GENERAL
  • Elly Plooij-van Gorsel (Former MEP, Chair e-Strategic Council Dutch Government) - TREASURER
  • Kim Cameron (Distinguished Engineer Microsoft, Canada) - MEMBER
  • Tony Graziano (VP Public Affairs and Communications, Huawei, Brussels Office) - MEMBER
  • Reinhard Posch (CIO Austria, Un Graz, AT)
  • Peter Brown (Consultant, BE)

Honorary Members

  • Sir Tim Berners-Lee – Professor at MIT, United States, Director of W3C and WWW Foundation
  • Ann Cavoukian – Information and Privacy Commissioner Ontario 1997 - 2014, Director Privacy and Big Data Institute, Ryerson Univ. Canada
  • Masao Horibe – Chairman of the Personal Information Protection Committee (PPC) of Japan; Emeritus Professor at Hitotsubashi University, Japan
  • Peter Hustinx - European Data Protection Supervisor 2004 -2014, Netherlands
  • Michael Kirby – The Hon Michael Kirby AC CMG, Australia
  • Hamadoun Touré – Secretary-General of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) 2007-2014, Mali

Organisational Associates

Personal Associates

  • Amelia Andersdotter, Dataskydd.net
  • Serge Bignens, IMSB - ETH Zürich, CH
  • Peter Brown, Consultant, US
  • Jacques Bus, Independent Advisor, Digitrust.EU, NL
  • Kim Cameron, Distinguished Engineer, Microsoft, CA
  • Asterios Chatziparadeisis, Greece
  • Tim Cole, Internet-Publizist, AT
  • Malcolm Crompton, Former Privacy Commissioner Australia, IISpartners, AU
  • Guy De Felcourt, FR
  • Eduard De Jong, NL
  • Sheila M. FitzPatrick, FitzPatrick & Assoc, USA
  • Ernst Hafen, IMSB - ETH Zürich, CH
  • Kaliya Hamlin, PDE Consortium, USA
  • Mari Hartemo, Finland
  • Patrick Hartigan, Moher Technologies, IRL
  • Mireille Hildebrandt, Radboud University, Nijmegen, NL
  • Cees Lanting, Muniskies, BE
  • David Meehan, Soloton, UK
  • George Metakides, Univ. Patras, GR
  • Irwin Oedayrajsingh Varma, JanusID, NL
  • Elly Plooij - van Gorsel, Former MEP, Chair e-Strategic Council Dutch Government, NL
  • Reinhard Posch, CIO Austria, Univ Graz, AT
  • Kai Rannenberg, Goethe University, Frankfurt, DE
  • Michel Riguidel, ENST, Paris, FR
  • Markus Sabadello, Project Danube, AT
  • Jacqui Taylor, Flying Binary, UK
  • Linnet Taylor, NL
  • Michael Waidner, Technische Univ. Darmstadt, DE
  • Robin Wilton, ISOC, UK


Contact us

We thank our sponsors